Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2022 ASLH Conference: Islamic Law and Agriculture in Global History, 1850-1950 (Superior A) (Saturday, November 12, 2022 @ 10:15 am – 11:45 am)

November 12 @ 10:15 am - 11:45 am

  • Chair: Intisar Rabb, Harvard University (irabb@law.harvard.edu)
  • Commentator: Nurfadzilah Yahaya, Yale University (nurfadzilah.yahaya@yale.edu)
  • Adam Mestyan, Duke University (Adam.MESTYAN@Duke.edu), Muslim Legal Ecology: The Norms of Reviving Barren Land as a Source of Ownership in Nineteenth-Century Egyptian Fatwas
  • Nora Barakat, Stanford University (nbarakat@stanford.edu), Hujaj vs. Tapu Registers: Evidentiary Tensions in Agricultural Land Disputes from Homs to Hufuf
  • Alishar Khaliyarov, Ohio State University (khaliyarov.1@osu.edu), Borrowing for Land: The Rise of Pious Loans in Central Asia
  • Ismail Warscheid, CNRS (ismail.warscheid@irht.cnrs.fr), Sharecropping Contracts and the Dynamics of Power Relations in Saharan Oasis Societies, 1750-1900

Details

Date:
November 12
Time:
10:15 am - 11:45 am
Event Category:
Event Tags:
%d bloggers like this: