Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Call for Submissions: “Cromwell Dissertation Prize,” American Society for Legal History

June 1, 2020



Best dissertation in American legal history completed in the past year.




June 1, 2020

The William Nelson Cromwell Foundation Dissertation Prize is awarded annually to the best dissertation in any area of American legal history, including constitutional and comparative studies, although topics dealing with the colonial and early national periods will receive some preference.

The author of the winning dissertation receives $5,000. Anyone who received a Ph.D. in 2019 will be eligible for this year’s prize, which is awarded by the Foundation after a review of the recommendation of the Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee of the American Society for Legal History.

Submissions should be made by the author including only (1) the dissertation as submitted to the university for the degree and (2) a curriculum vitae.

To be considered for this year’s prize, the author should EITHER

1. Send a hard copy of the dissertation and author curriculum vitae to all committee members and John Gordan listed below OR

2. E-mail a PDF electronic copy of the dissertation and author curriculum vitae to John Gordan (johngordan3@gmail.com) and the prize committee chair, Mary Sarah Bilder (cromwelldissertationprize@aslh.net) with the subject heading: CROMWELL DISSERTATION PRIZE SUBMISSION no later than June 1, 2020.  Please title the PDF as “author last name” and “short title”.pdf  (e.g.: Thompson Whigs and Hunters).

Committee Members

John D. Gordan, III
Secretary of the Cromwell Foundation
1133 Park Avenue
New York, NY, 10128

Mary Sarah Bilder (chair)
Boston College Law School

Timothy Lovelace
Indiana University

Anne Kornhauser
City College of New York

Dylan Penningroth
University of California, Berkeley

Sarah Seo
University of Iowa College of Law

%d bloggers like this: