Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Call for Submissions: “Sutherland Prize,” American Society for Legal History

June 1, 2020



Best article on British legal history published in the previous year.




June 1, 2020

The Sutherland Prize, named in honor of the late Donald W. Sutherland, a distinguished historian of the law of medieval England and a mentor of many students, is awarded annually, on the recommendation of the Sutherland Prize Committee, to the person or persons who wrote the best article on the legal history of Britain and/or the British Empire published in the previous year.

To ensure consideration, authors are invited to nominate an article by sending an electronic copy to committee chair Michael Lobban at sutherlandprize@aslh.net by June 1, 2020. In keeping with past practice, the committee may also consider eligible articles nominated by the chair.

Committee Members

Michael Lobban (chair)
London School of Economics, University of London

Paul Halliday
University of Virginia

Allyson May
University of Western Ontario

P.G. McHugh
University of Cambridge

Philip Stern
Duke University