Country Profile: Armenia

This Country Profile provides a basic overview of the legal history and institutional structures of the Republic of Armenia (Hayastani Hanrapetut’yun), based on research produced by GlobaLex at NYU Law School and the Library of Congress. Under Armenia’s Constitution, Islamic law (sharīʿa or fiqh) has no legal status.


Country Background

Armenia is located in Southwestern Asia, between Turkey (to the west) and Azerbaijan. The capital of Armenia is Yerevan. The official language is Armenian. The country’s population in 2016 was approximately 3 million. Armenia is a predominantly Christian country, with about 93% of the population Armenian Apostolic. Armenia is an observer state of the Arab League.

Constitution & Legal Structure

Armenia is referred to as a parliamentary republic, in which the sovereignty belongs to the people and the Constitution is the supreme law of the land. The system of government is based on principles of separation and checks and balances and has three branches: legislative, executive, and judicial.

Constitutional Status of Islamic Law

Islamic law has no constitutional status in Armenia. . . .

Read Armenia’s profile.